wilmington memories

There are a lot of amazing people here in Wilmington.  I’m going to be sad to leave today, but it’s time to move out of the apartment and go home to pack like a madwoman for Germany.

So now, it’s time for the montage of random Wilmington memories:

package delivery football rivalry

So I’m wearing a Virginia Tech Hokies t-shirt and a bright orange headband.  Dressed like an enthusiastic Hokie during non-football season.  A delivery guy who apparently went to NC State or UVA knocks on the door of the apartment I’m sharing with two other roommates.  He hands me the delivery-confirmation-signature thingy, and I sign for the package and hand it back.

Delivery guy:  *hands me the package* “Virginia Tech, huh?  I bet y’all don’t have a couch, ’cause you burned it!”  *walks away giggling* “Have a nice day!”

Me:  “…Thanks! You too!” *turns around and walks past perfectly functional and not-on-fire couch to roommate’s room to give her her package*

concert at the beach

Just an hour after the package delivery incident, I was walking along the strip of dry sand at Wrightsville Beach.  That far away from the water there are a number of benches labeled with the names of large cities in North Carolina.  Pretty cute.  Lots of tourists from other parts of NC like to find the bench with the name of their city and get their pictures taken.

On one of these benches were guys.  High-school guys,  I think.  Probably 8 or 10 of them.  Sitting on the seat and the seat back, as if they were in a choir.  They were singing, too.  Singing the “na na na” part of Hey Hey Goodbye.  (Or whatever that song is called.)

Guys: (singing) “na na na na”

Me:  *Walks past, giggling openly*

Guy on bench:  (at a break in the song) “Hey guys, I wonder why she’s laughing at us?”

Guys:  *louder* “NA NA NA NA, HEY HEY HEY, GOODBYE”

Me:  *keeps walking but can’t walk straight for laughing*

finally getting britts donuts

I finally got Britts Donuts!  One of them, at least.  Delicious.

me eating a donut at britt's donut shop in carolina beach, north carolina

First cardinal rule of blogging: no food pictures.  Oops.  Too melt-in-your-mouth-ishly delicious to not post this.

Gotta get back to packing those last few things now.  To all of my friends in Wilmington, I wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.  I want to visit Wilmington again, and if you happen to find yourself in Germany, let me know so we can hang out.

Just don’t accuse me of having burned my couch.

5 thoughts on “wilmington memories

    • Ack. Didn’t even think to look that up on UD. Glad it wasn’t something too horrific. I thought the couch burning thing was due to Virginia Tech sometimes being considered sort of backwoodsy, at least according to its football rivals. But coming from VT, I can say that that is a myth. I don’t think I ever saw a couch being burned in Blacksburg at all, in my 3 years there.

      Prospective college students: Virginia Tech is awesome. They don’t burn couches, and that is a good thing. 🙂 There are many other good things about VT as well. Don’t listen to the package delivery guy from mentioned above.

    • Those look delicious! I can understand posting those, and I also love seeing your cooking creations! I was just thinking back to a blog post (about blogging) that I read a while back that basically said that readers don’t want to see a picture of the blogger’s lunch. But if it looks good or is part of a recipe step-by-step guide (or is a touristy thing, in my case) or if you just feel like breaking the rules, I think it should be allowed. 🙂

      Now I’m hungry. 🙂

      • Ah, I understand what your original meaning was now. It’s kind of like using Twitter. People really don’t want to read tweets about what you’re doing every second of the day (that’s not the true purpose of Twitter). “Just woke up.” “Eating lunch.” and so on.

        Regarding posting pictures, I’ll take a photo of a meal if it’s extra fancy looking, or if it’s something I’m making and including along with a recipe, but not “just because”. The donut is an exception of course since the location was special.

        Now I’d like a donut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

