the mailbox

I wasn’t going to post about this Wilmington, NC secret local treasure, but the friend who told me where it is (thanks, S.S.!) said that as long as I don’t disclose the exact location, she thinks it is ok for me to share.

S.S., who lived in Wilmington for a few years, let me in on a secret mailbox located on [NAME OF BEACH REDACTED] beach in North Carolina. It’s a bit off the beaten path of this particular beach, but the walk is worth the trouble.

I wasn’t quite sure what The Mailbox would look like and was half-expecting it to be a rusty mailbox in front of some disused beach house, but it is actually lovingly set up on a multi-tiered platform that appears to have been specifically built into the dunes for this purpose.

the mailbox, surrounded by shells and other trinkets left by visitors

The Mailbox. Filled with secrets and surrounded by shells and other trinkets left behind by visitors.

A one-hour parking pass and a fifteen-minute walk back to my car kept me from staying at The Mailbox long enough to read most of the notes people had left on the notebook inside of or on the shells left on the shelves surrounding The Mailbox, but I read a couple. Some of the messages were full of hope for the future or thankfulness to God for His help in some difficult situation, but other messages were written by people who are clearly searching for meaning or purpose in life. Since some of the messages left behind were references to Scripture, I did not feel out of place leaving a few index cards behind with some verses that have encouraged me through hard times.

my contribution to the mailbox

My contribution to The Mailbox.

The verses I left behind are:

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4, TNIV

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 TNIV

“For I know the plans I have for you,’declares the LORD,’plans to prosper you and not to harm you; plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11, TNIV

Those of you who attend New Life Christian Fellowship in Blacksburg, VA may recognize the sticker I used to hold the cards with the verses together.  🙂  I wish I had had a sticker or something from Port City Community Church I could have left, since it is local to the Wilmington area.  Any PC3ers want to go contribute to The Mailbox?  (Can I just mention here how blessed I feel to have three “home” churches–one in Northern VA, one at Virginia Tech (Blacksburg, VA), and one in Wilmington, NC?  God is good.)

I hope to be able to go back to The Mailbox someday. S.S. told me that it has been moved at least once before, probably due to too many people discovering it, but if you will be in the Wilmington, N.C. Area soon and want to know the directions I used to find its current (as of August 1, 2011) location, send an emailtolalaland@gmail.com and I can give directions on an individual basis. Just don’t spread the word too far. Keep The Mailbox local!

One thought on “the mailbox

  1. Pingback: the long road to routine | tales from lala land

Leave a Reply

