what the spambot is going on?

Some of my blog posts are getting spammed.  But not in a way that Akismet (amazing spam-catching software that is automatically used on WordPress.com blogs) can catch.  These spambots seem to be Facebook-liking my posts.  I’m not sure whether these are supposed to be happiness-spreading bots or whether they are liking my blog in an effort to spam people on Facebook, but please be wary.  I hope that this doesn’t lead to malware being distributed through fake Facebook messages linking to my blog or something.  Maybe me posting about getting a certain product from a certain well-known computer manufacturer and software company attracted the bots?   If I figure out what is going on and have updates to report, I’ll try to post them here.  If any of you have insight into this sort of spambot behavior or have ideas on how to prevent it, please commet (the little speech-bubble shaped thing on the side of the post)  In the meantime, please accept my apologies if something bad happens because of the spambot fiends.  I have no clue what is going on.

Leave a Reply

