study-abroad tip: visiting home would be amazing right now.

Here’s a tip, if you’re thinking about studying abroad for an extended period of time:  don’t go with the assumption that you will stay in the foreign country the entire length of your study abroad.  It would be so comforting right now to know that I had a plane ticket to go home even for just a week for Christmas.  I miss my parents, I miss my dog, I miss my friends.  I miss hugs from all of them.  And I miss American culture.  I want to go home for a little while to remind myself that it will still be there when I get ready to come home for good.

It’s only a year.  It’s only a year.  It’s only a year.

I miss home.

3 thoughts on “study-abroad tip: visiting home would be amazing right now.

  1. I’ve been thinking of you and praying that your homesickness will subside. I have a feeling that a few people in the family may try to visit while you’re studying abroad. 🙂 Remember we love you lots and think about you often. xoxoxox

    • Thank you so much for the prayers! I think my homesickness is like a roller coaster for the time being; right now, I’m making progress towards being a fully-matriculated student here and feeling pretty good, though I miss everyone back at home. Other times, I am overwhelmed and then being far away from family and friends makes it even harder. But visits are definitely welcome! My apartment is kind of small to have guests, but there’s a nice-looking hotel very close to the city center, as well as some others.

      I’ll be praying for you and J too, and the little one on the way! Excited for you guys!
      xoxoxoxoxo!

      • Thank you Laura! We appreciate the prayers as well. Speaking of the little one (as I’m being kicked), I just signed up for childbirth classes & a tour of the hospital in November. It will be for 3 Saturdays in a row. Exciting! Hang in there. You’re a tough cookie and I know you’ll do just fine. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox infinity!

Leave a Reply

