proud to be an american

I didn’t think that I would ever post a song as an entire blog post, but this one has been on my mind a lot recently, and with today as the anniversary of the devastating attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, I thought it was appropriate to post in memory of those who were lost in the attacks ten years ago.  I’ve changed a few words here and there to reflect that I am not currently in the country and that I miss it very much.

If tomorrow all the things were gone,
I’d worked for all my life.
And I had to start again,
with just my children and my wife.

I’d thank my lucky stars,
to be livin’ there today.
‘Cause the flag still stands for freedom,
and they can’t take that away.

And I’m proud to be an American,
where at least I know I’m free.
And I wont forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.

And I gladly stand up,
next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love that land,
God bless the USA.

From the lakes of Minnesota,
to the hills of Tennessee.
Across the plains of Texas,
From sea to shining sea.

From Detroit down to Houston,
and New York to L.A.
Well there’s pride in every American heart,
and its time we stand and say:

That I’m proud to be an American,
where at least I know I’m free.
And I wont forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.

And I gladly stand up,
next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love that land,
God bless the USA.

And I’m proud to be and American,
where at least I know I’m free.
And I wont forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.

And I gladly stand up,
next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love that land,
God bless the USA.

(song by Lee Greenwood, minor edits by myself)

I pray that those of you who are missing someone you love due to the events ten years ago today would find peace and comfort.

Leave a Reply

