intense language classes are intense

The intense language class I’m in moves pretty quickly.  Three hours of German instruction per day, then around three or four hours of homework for the next day (that rarely gets checked, but it’s at least good practice.)

Today, I have a short presentation to give with another student.  I’m not too worried about that.  But tomorrow is the midterm exam, and I’m hoping to at least pass it.  Not that I want to do badly in any class, but the teacher doesn’t sound optimistic about our scores.

One thing that bothers me a bit about this class is that it only deals with properly-spoken and written German.  We talk a little bit about colloquialisms, but I would also like to learn how to understand when people talk really fast and slur their words together.  There’s got to be some teachable strategy to that, right?

I’m not even sure I get course credit for this class.  It is great to have help learning German, and great to have an actual schedule every day, though.  But the class does stress me, so hopefully I can make it through the last 2 weeks without going crazy.  We’ll see.

 

 

2 thoughts on “intense language classes are intense

  1. Laura,
    Remember shooting the ducks? Just shoot the ducks. You are awesome and you will do well on your exam. Don’t stress…just shoot the ducks. Pow! Pow! Pow! I love you and am praying for you often and thinking of you lots and lots. Gramma and Grandpa Gilbert are thinking about you too. Aunt Kathryn is thinking of you and praying for you also. BTTBB? Well, I know you are in his thoughts and prayers too. Bless you, bless you, bless you!!!!
    Loads of love,
    A. Gail

    • Thanks for the advice and prayers! The exam wasn’t nearly as bad as most of us thought it would be, thankfully. I think a lot of us exchange students were stressed because we’ve been learning a lot of grammar and vocab and expected to need to know it for the test, but the test turned out to be mostly writing sentences/paragraphs. With proper grammar, but we didn’t have to label dative or accusative parts or anything, which is a relief; we just had to use proper sentence structures when we write. The ultimate goal of the class is increased fluency.

      Thank you again so much for the prayers! I still definitely feel foreign here, and I guess I always will so long as I live here, but I’m slowly getting more comfortable. Please pray for me to have peace here so I can focus on the things I need to do and learn!

      I love you!
      -La

Leave a Reply

