heidelberg: views of the city from the castle

I finally went to Heidelberg last Friday!  Since I just got back from travelling with the other exchange students this weekend and am still tired from all the walking, I’ve scheduled a series of blog posts with photos from my Heidelberg trip.  This is the last of that series.  Today’s pictures are of the views of the city you can see from the castle.

view of the city and of the old bridge (altbrücke)

This is a view of the city from the castle.  Here, you can see the Old Bridge (Altbrücke) crossing the river.

view of city and river from castleAnother view of the city from the castle, but this time, of the edge of the city where the houses give way to forest and farmland.

view of dense part of the city

Looking in the opposite direction, you can see the Old Bridge, the cathedral, and the closely-packed buildings in the Altstadt (Old [part of the] City).

bonus: view of the castle as seen from the old bridgeBonus:  A view of the castle as seen from me standing on the Old Bridge. Note that some parts of the castle are actually under renovation. I wonder if they’ll be done before I go back to the USA so I can get a picture of the restored castle…

Well, that concludes the series of pictures on Heidelberg.  I hope you enjoyed it!

4 thoughts on “heidelberg: views of the city from the castle

  1. What great pictures! Each of those could be a postcard!
    I never realized the castle was so large! Thanks for posting the pictures!

  2. I think this is one stop we must make when we visit Germany! This is so beautiful. I’m so glad you were finally able to go. Thanks for sharing:)

  3. Hope you had fun “Storming the Castle!”
    Beautiful pictures. In your newer posts, I have to say I really admire your talking to the doc in a foreign language. I can’t understand doctors in any language. Take care of yourself!

  4. Pingback: sunday best: heidelberg christmas market | tales from lala land

Leave a Reply

