diabetolog

I do have plenty of pictures that I took over the weekend, but I’ll post some of those later this week.  Can’t give you guys too many travel picture posts in a row, right?

Yesterday, I went to see a diabetolog, which in America would be called an endocrinologist.  The kind of doctor who treats diabetes mellitus and thyroid problems, of which I have both.

The doctor was very nice.  She asked me whether I wanted to speak German or English, and she agreed when I asked that we start in German and only switch to English if I don’t understand something.  That system worked pretty well; I was mostly able to  understand her German comments about my blood sugar trends that I had printed out from my Dexcom’s readings.

Until she said a word that sounded so distracting that I had no hope of understanding it.  That word was die Hypoglykämie, and the combination of the y’s and g made it sound like she was hiccupping in the middle of the word.  (To hear how it is pronounced, go to http://dict.leo.org/ende?lp=ende&p=PSyjpkwAA&search=Hypoglyk%C3%A4mie&trestr=0x2001 and click on the speaker icon next to the word.  A box will pop up, and then you can push play to hear this crazy hiccup-word.)

When the look on my face told her I had no clue what she was talking about, she told me she was talking about hypoglycemia.  We then switched to English for a while, occasionally switching between Deutsch and English for the rest of the appointment.

She suggested a plan for helping me get better control over my blood sugar overnight, since it often goes low then.  Of course, if my blood sugar goes low overnight, I often eat more than I should to bring my blood sugar back to normal, since I’m tired and want to go back to sleep but still want to make sure that my blood sugar goes high enough.  That often results in my blood sugars being high when I wake up in the morning.  Which results in me riding the proverbial gluco-coaster.

There were some differences between this visit to a diabetolog and a visit to my American endocrinologist.  For instance, I had to actually ask to hear what my Heboglobin A1c result was (a HA1c is a test that acts like a diabetic’s report card for the past few months).  And prescriptions here look waaay different.

There are other differences between diabetes care in American and diabetes care in Germany, but since I have just finished a period of not eating so I could test my basal rates during breakfast hours, I am hungry and will cover diabetes care in Germany later on.

One thought on “diabetolog

  1. Congrats on being able to conduct so much of the appointment auf Deutsch!
    That’s a crazy word! When I have more time, I think I’ll go back and listen to it a few times.
    Glad you had a good appointment and were able to do some basal testing. Yuck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

