mustard

Some condiments in Germany are packaged very, very differently than they are in the USA.

an american bottle of mustard.  yum

This, as you may recognize, is an American bottle of mustard.  (Thanks for taking this picture, Mom!  Yeah, I know it is weird to email home and ask for a picture of mustard…)

tube of german mustard. yes, i am serious, that is mustard.

This is German mustard.  Yes, really.  (Senf = mustard).  When I first moved in to this apartment and looked in the fridge we all share, I started to wonder why people were keeping their toothpaste in the fridge…

do not use as toothpaste. normal toothpaste is not yellow.

…but they weren’t!  Here in Germany, you gotta make sure that your toothpaste does not come from the condiment aisle, because this is NOT toothpaste!  The yellow of the mustard is a hint.  (Other condiments are packaged this way as well.  I think I could find a jar of mustard if I tried, but I couldn’t resist the funny packaging this time.)

In other news, my new favorite German condiment is Curry Ketchup.  Fantastic on fresh french fries from the street vendor in the city center, but also pretty good on sandwiches.  But I don’t happen to have a picture of it at the moment.

What’s your favorite condiment?  (Does anyone else go to Chick-Fil-A and mix Texas Pete sauce and ketchup for the fries like I do?  Oh, how I miss Chick-Fil-A… *homesick*)  Leave comments!  I love reading what you guys have to say!  🙂

5 thoughts on “mustard

  1. Mustard in a tube? Hmmm. I might have trouble finding it amongst all my condiments! I recently found a great paste of Cilantro and was skeptical until I added some to rice. Oh, yeah. It’s great.

    My favorite condiment? Miracle Whip. Hands down. But I would need a huge tube if it came in one!

    Thanks for showing us some of the “think different” ideas from Germany!

  2. I despise mustard in all forms, but I think the “toothpaste” version is the absolute grossest thing ever! 🙂 I prefer mayo (no, Miracle Whip is not the same thing…). I love the new Chick-Fil-A sauce they have. It’s sorta like a mixture of bbq sauce & mayo…but better. Ketchup is my favorite condiment. My husband puts pepper in his. When we lived in New Orleans we always bought Tabasco Ketchup! MMMMMMMM…..fiery goodness at its best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

