making the most of this year

Homesickness has hit me pretty hard this week.  I keep having little flashbacks to places I’ve been in the past.  Driving down Main Street in Blacksburg, VA to get to church at Virginia Tech, or of my parents’ house, or of the beach in Wilmington.  Even strangely specific places, such as particular grocery stores and the various Wal-Marts and Targets I’ve been to.

I’m not sure why I keep thinking of all these things, but in some ways, I’m thinking my mind just wants to know that all the stuff I remember is still there.  That I’m not crazy and reminiscing about imaginary places.  Surrounded by a foreign country that I’m only half-used to and only being able to contact family members through email and video chat is still jarring.  Everything I was used to at home has not been nearby for two-and-a-half months now, and it feels so far away!

Things will be fine after a while, I’m sure, and since I’m only here for a year, it won’t be too many months before I can go to all those familiar places back home again whenever I want.  For now, I need to get out of this rut and enjoy the advantages of Germany.  So my plan to take steps to make the most of my time here:

– Come up with a list of books I want to buy while I am in Germany, since getting German books in America is both difficult and expensive.  And since I like to read.

– Buy a few movies or TV shows on German iTunes.  (I already have a 25€ iTunes gift card ready to go.)

– Research the places I want to visit while I’m in Europe.  I have a map on my wall with several cities I’d like to visit already marked.

But amongst studying for classes, taking exams (first one is in December!), grocery shopping, applying for grad school, being involved with Campus für Christus, volunteering in the robotics lab, and blogging–with all this stuff to do, as well as exploring what Germany has to offer, how do I have time to be homesick?

I’m honestly not sure.  But I do know this: being homesick means that home is worth missing.  I’ll get there eventually.  I just need to enjoy where I am now.

4 thoughts on “making the most of this year

    • Nagging may not always be fun to listen to, but it is sometimes necessary. And I love to hear what you have to say, Mom! You have such a talent for cheerleading, did you know that?
      <3!
      -La

  1. Sorry to hear that this week has been particularly rough. You’re right though, it will get better.

    Remember:
    You are loved unconditionally by your Heavenly Father.
    – He is ALWAYS there.
    – Sometimes He may be silent, but He always listens.
    – There are times He is whispering. Be still. Listen for Him and ask for His Spirit to fill you.

    Your family (immediate and extended) love you beyond words!
    – We think about you and pray for you all the time (even if we forget to write). o_O

    You are a strong, beautiful woman.
    – Yes you are.
    – Believe in yourself!
    – Pray for strength and wisdom.

    You will experience things (and already have) that will help you grow… even if they’re uncomfortable.
    – It’s not always “fun”, but when you look back at it all you’ll be amazed where you started and where you’ve come.

    Ask God for help, guidance and peace.
    – He will provide.

    I’m sure there’s more I could think of, but that’s a starter. 😉
    Love you!

    • Thank you so much for your sweet comment! And for the prayers! Someone up there is definitely listening. He’s been faithful even when I just want to give up and go home. (So happy to be going to visit my parents for Christmas, though!) I keep going through a roller coaster of wanting to go home and thinking I’ll be able to survive the year and come out a better person on the other side. Though I have already grown a LOT by being here! (I have a draft post that’s kind of on that topic that will be posted soon.)

      Thanks again for the encouragement! I love you! Hope you’re doing well!

      xoxo,
      La

      P.S. By the way, I usually read your blog on my Google Reader, but today I felt like visiting your actual blog. SO CUTE! I love it! I should visit in person (er, outside my blog reader?) more often! 🙂

Leave a Reply

