magic flute vs. studying

I’m pretty excited.  A fellow opera-fan from my exchange program and I just got free student tickets to go see Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute) on Wednesday night.  I’ve wanted to see an opera–any opera!–in person for a long time, and now I’ll get to see one of my favorites.

But at the same time, it worries me.  I have an exam for Strukturdynamik (Vibrations) coming up on December 10, and I have heard that this exam is tough.  All the people in my exchange program are studying like crazy for it, as am I.  But at the same time, I want to experience the fun things Germany has to offer.

Being an exchange student is hard because you want to travel and go to the theater and meet people from the culture you’re immersed in, but you also have to study and do homework and go to classes.  All while there are cities to explore, tourist traps to visit, and Weihnachtsmarkts to shop at.

So I’ll do my best to schedule around The Magic Flute this Wednesday, but I have a feeling that after I get back to my apartment that night, I’ll do at least another few practice problems before hitting the hay.

2 thoughts on “magic flute vs. studying

  1. Wonderful! I love Mozart too! I saw the Marriage of Figaro when I was in high school and thought it was great. I can’t wait to hear about it.
    I think you are wise to schedule a fun activity in with the studying. You may be able to concentrate and get more done if you allow yourself a respite now and then. I’ve enjoyed your photos. You are a very good photographer! xoxoxox

    • Ooh, seeing the Marriage of Figaro would be fun as well! Though the first time I saw that one was when I saw it on DVD, and the title of the DVD was “Le Nozze di Figaro” and I kept saying that it was the Nose of Figaro. Tee hee. Good opera, though.

      I hope this will be a good respite. I guess we’ll see. I’ve been studying a lot this week and yet somehow feel like all I’ve done is just a drop in the bucket compared to what I actually need to get done. Not that I want to do badly in the class, but thankfully, to get my pass/fail credit to transfer as a “pass” back to VT, all I have to do is pass.

      And thanks about the photos! I love logging into Facebook and seeing a bunch of notifications that you liked them! That never fails to make me smile. 🙂
      xoxoxoxoxo! ❤

Leave a Reply

