burnout, meet panic

Well, it’s the middle of exam season here at TU Darmstadt.  I finished my first final exam on Friday (for Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik, aka Control Systems) and my second yesterday (for Aerodynamik, which is–you guessed it–Aerodynamics).  After studying like a madwoman for those exams, I feel pretty burnt out.

I have two exams left for this semester.  My next exam isn’t until March 15th, but I will be studying almost solid starting right after I publish this post.  Why?  That class is the only one I have had here in Germany that has a midterm exam, and the results just got posted.  I did not do nearly as well as I was hoping, and I’ll need to study like crazy if I want to get a decent grade.  I thought I was prepared for the midterm, but at least I’m finding out now how much I need to get done before the final exam.  I’ve heard rumors that the professor for this class intentionally makes the midterm exam harder than the final exam so that the students will be encouraged to study, and then the grades from the midterm exam are withheld until shortly before the final exam so that if, by chance, someone managed to get a decent grade on the first exam, they would still study.

All I can do is study.  And pray.  If you are a praying person, I would appreciate some prayer about this.  Prayer that I can focus while studying and while taking the exam, that I’ll be able to learn what I need to learn, and that I will be able to properly apply all that I learned while studying during the exam itself.

EDIT:  Prayer that I pass this and all of my classes this semester with good grades would also be appreciated!

Also, a health-related prayer request:  typically, when I’m writing something while I am stressed (such as while studying for or taking an exam), I tend to hunch over the paper I’m writing on and have a vice-like grip on my writing instrument.  As a result of hunching over practice tests and having a death grip on my pen for the past two weeks of studying for my first two exams, I now have back pain and hand/wrist pain.  Since I have two exams to go, I need the pain to go away (and stay away) ASAP.

…And I could stand to develop better posture, too.

Ok, it’s study time. Let’s do this.

2 thoughts on “burnout, meet panic

  1. Lord help my friend in LaLaLand with the aerodynamic German vice grip pain in her writing instrument.
    And that is why God has the Holy Spirit interpreting on our behalf. Thanks to Him, you should feel better in no time! ; )

Leave a Reply

